Victorian Off-Road Triathlon Championships

Saturday was the Victorian Off-road Triathlon Championships in Bendigo. It was also my first triathlon after an extended break.

This is a great event for anyone wanting to give a off-road triathlon a go but also allows strong mountain bikes to use their skills to there advantage.

bendigo bike

Photo: Open Shutter Photography

Swim was a calm 2 lap lake swim. Then it was a short climb over the hill to transition (I remembered to put some runner at the water exit this year and save my feet running into bike compound). Then you head out onto 3 x 10km bike loops. It starts with a bit of fire road. Enough to get yourself sorted and take a drink then you head into the single track which is where you stay for the remainder of the lap. It is good fun winding around the bush with a few little climbs and descents thrown in there to mix things up. It was also a bit rocker and rougher than I remember and my back was really wishing I rode a dual suspension. I really enjoyed the ride but felt my fitness faded a bit. Unfortunately I got a flat about a kilometer from the end and had to run back to T2.

Up the hill and onto the run. The In2adventure team definitely made sure this was an “offroad” run. They even threw in some large trees to climb over and a decent run through a aquaduct.

bendigo run

Photo: Open Shutter Photography

I was happy to take the overall age group female line honours and win my 25-29 Age Group, hopefully securing me a spot in the Aussie team for next year. My time was also quiet respectable in the elite field to which has given me lot of confidence for Australian Championship at Lake Crackenback in February next year.

trex bendigo podium

Leave a Reply

