Victorian Gatorade Series – Round 1 Elwood

gatorade R1 bike

The Victorian Gatorade Triathlon Series season has begun. Round 1 was at Elwood on Sunday. I woke up feeling better than I expected after the off-road triathlon yesterday and decided to race Gatorade. Conditions were perfect.

It was good to more female elites and ITU juniors on the start line, hopefully a sign of bigger fields as the season goes on. The gun went off for a calm, one lap swim. I soon discovered that my body was pretty spent from yesterdays adventures and I didn’t have top gear and got dropped early on in the swim. I exited the water with a couple of ITU juniors, a fair way back from the leaders. Onto the bike and I was really hoping for some girls to draft as my legs were feeling really heavy but the field was pretty strung out. I slowly worked my way through the field and by the end of the ride I had moved up into 3rd.

gatorade R1 bike 2

Out onto the run and the legs just said no to speed. I slipped back to finish 5th Elite female. Congrats to Ellie Salthouse on the win.

Big opening weekend of racing completed. Time to recover and get in some decent training ready for next year!

gatorade R1

Leave a Reply

