Winter Wrap Up

Sun is starting to shine, days are getting long, and all things that make outdoor athletes very happy! I am definitely not sad that days of taking 10 minutes just to get dressed in booties, winter jackets, head warmers etc. to ride are nearly over. Saying that, I changed up my winter training a lot this year and it has actually been quiet enjoyable.

10431296_10152136062361366_5302353210700382425_o

I had my goal of the upcoming Xterra Off-road Triathlon World Championships to keep me active this winter. The bonus of that has been that my training has been much more off-road focused which has been great. Riding on the mountain bike in the trails in mud is great fun, definitely more enjoyable than getting the dirty road water sprayed in your face.

So this winter I been joining the Topgear Cycles crew on their Tuesday night mountain bike shop ride (riding with lights does require some adjustment I will admit) to improve my mountain biking skills. Another new thing for me this winter has been cyclocross racing. It has been great for my bike handling skills but also a lot of fun. There is a great crowd at the events. There are kid’s races through to elite races. The competitors are very friendly and no one cares if you are a first timer or A grader. It has been a great way to get some high intensity off-road session done!

 

I have also kicked my 2014/2015 Triathlon season off with a Sprint Distance race in Long Beach, California. This was a great location for an event. The bike course included part of the Indy Formula One car racing loop. It was so nice to be able to swim in the open water also. I was the first female, great way to blow the cobwebs and kick start the new season.

sdf

I also ticked another event off my bucket list and race the Phillip Island Grind Prix which is part of the Victorian Road Cycling Series. This involved a team time trial in the morning followed by a road race. I have always wanted to race on the car race track. Sadly it was a very wet event and the women’s event kept being neutralised which eliminated the ability for any of the breakaways I got into to stay away.

Off to Amy’s Gran Fondo in Lorne this weekend. Looking forward to riding the Great Ocean Road.

 

My summary of results of winter is below:

  • 1st Female Long Beach Triathlon
  • 5th Elite Female National Cyclocross Series Round 1 and Round 2
  • 5th Female Dirty Deeds Round 1
  • 2nd A grade Female Fields of Joy Round 1
  • 4th A grade Female Fields of Joy Preliminary Round
  • 1st Female Team Women’s B Grade Phillip Island Grand Prix Round of Victorian Road Series
Leave a Reply

