Gatorade Triathlon Series – Round 3 Elwood (13/01/13)

A month had passed since I stood on the same startline and looked at the “surf “and whitecaps rolling in. Today’sGatorade series used the same course ,but the conditions were much calmer. Since the last race I had enjoyed a break from training and working , spending some “quality time” by the river waterskiing. So, like many people here today, “Christmas festivities” were not necessarily the best preparation, but here we all were.

Super Sprint Gatorade Race 3. Elwood Beach. Brighton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. 13/01/2013. Photo By Lucas Wroe

After an average swim start I settled into a comfortable pace. I was overtaken at the first buoy by Camile Hundson and sat on her feet for the remainder of the swim. Once we reached the sand, I pushed hard through T1 to try and close the gap up to Grace Deveson who came out of the swim well ahead.

A smooth transition enabled me to close the gap to Deveson. Not long after, Hudson and Cust joined us, with Franks to follow shortly after.

The pack of 5 was not working well together.

I noticed Hundson pushing hard to stay on the back and so I took a solid lead to try and stretch the group. Coming into the bottom turn, Franks put in a strong surge but she could not break anyone else, we were going to have a pack of four for the remaining lap of the bike.

Super Sprint Gatorade Race 3. Elwood Beach. Brighton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. 13/01/2013. Photo By Lucas Wroe 

I was first to rack my bike in T2 and head out onto the run. I lead the group, Deveson, Cust and myself. Itwasn’t long before Cust took the lead and stayed there. I managed to hold a solid pace to finish second Overall and first Female Elite (Cust was racing ITU juniors). 

I was happy with my race after the break and looking forward to a solid training block before Gatorade Round 4 Olympic Distance in early February.

Thanks to Top Gear Cycles, Dextro Nutrition and SuperSprints event.

Super Sprint Gatorade Race 3. Elwood Beach. Brighton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. 13/01/2013. Photo By Lucas Wroe

Leave a Reply

